Hon. William Adu Obiri, the Assembly Member for Anyinasin Electoral Area, has been elected as the Presiding Member of the Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly. The election took place on May 30, 2024, at the Assembly Hall in Akyem Kukurantumi, Eastern Region of Ghana.

The election, organized by the District Electoral Commission, was conducted on a “yes” or “no” basis following the withdrawal of Hon. Isaac Asiedu, a Government Appointee, and Hon. Abdul Rahman Abdulai, the Assembly Member for Osiem Ahenbronom.

Hon. William Adu Obiri secured 21 out of 24 votes, with 1 “no” vote and 2 rejected ballots. The total number of expected voters was 25.

In his acceptance speech, Hon. William Adu Obiri expressed his gratitude to the Assembly Members and all attendees. He emphasized the need for unity to drive the socio-economic development of the Municipality and the country as a whole. Hon. Adu Obiri pledged his commitment to serve with truth and integrity, aiming to enhance the standards of the Assembly.

The event was attended by several dignitaries, including Hon. Alhaji Umar Babs Bodinga, the Municipal Chief Executive; Mr. Emil Tawiah Atsu, the Municipal Coordinating Director; Assembly Members; Departmental Heads; opinion leaders; heads of security agencies; and members of the press.